Lost City of atlantis
March 13, 2011 7:45 AM   Subscribe

A U.S.-led research team may have finally located the lost city of Atlantis. The legendary metropolis was believed to have been swamped by a tsunami thousands of years ago in mud flats in southern Spain.
posted by TheBones (9 comments total)

This post was deleted for the following reason: this is wicked thin sort of fake-science news that's riding on the page rank for the word tsunami I'm afraid. -- jessamyn

Gotta' love the Reuters "report." Looks to me like a thinly veiled P.R. release for the National Geographic Channel's upcoming program, "Finding Atlantis," airing tonight.
posted by drwhitt at 7:52 AM on March 13, 2011 [1 favorite]

Finding Atlantis is like figuring out a magic trick: you want to know where it is and what happened, but when you do find out, it loses the magic. So I kinda hope this isn't Atlantis..
posted by Deflagro at 8:01 AM on March 13, 2011

Although I studied only a little about Spain in my archaeology days in college, I did pick up an instinct for when something smells wrong about an archaeological news story, and I'm using it right now.
posted by Countess Elena at 8:01 AM on March 13, 2011

obligatory slyt
posted by warbaby at 8:03 AM on March 13, 2011

Looks to me like a thinly veiled P.R. release for the National Geographic Channel's upcoming program

Amazing everyone was able to keep a lid on the news until the show was finished, edited and made ready for production. Sad to see the leak come out just a day before and ruin the surprise.
posted by yerfatma at 8:08 AM on March 13, 2011

Gotta' love the Reuters "report."

Yes my favorite part being the tenth or so graf when they finally point out that ATLANTIS DOESN'T EXIST.