Join 3,559 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

See? She thought I was a lawyer.
March 21, 2011 6:51 AM   Subscribe

Over the years, he's become so well versed in restaurant labor law that his attorneys don't even charge him for filing lawsuits anymore. 'They take them on spec,' he boasts. 'By now, they know that if I file something, it's legit.' Eddie Santana, restaurant rebel, has filed 30 lawsuits against companies — nearly all restaurants and bars — for everything from illegal tip pools to excessive uniform costs. He's netted $144,924.79 after attorney fees from 20 separate settlements. And from the nine suits still pending, he hopes to make another $100,000, if not more.
posted by shakespeherian (49 comments total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

According to the article, he's earned $144,924.79 from 20 seperate suits in 9 years...or $16,102.75 per year, not even $1400 a month. Plus a 10month jail stint. Seems a little low for a good waiter in Miami.
posted by T.D. Strange at 6:56 AM on March 21, 2011 [7 favorites]

Who would hire this guy? Oh yeah, if you don't, he'll sue you.
posted by fatllama at 7:01 AM on March 21, 2011

This strikes me as sad. The guy could be pushing for equitable treatment and pay for all waitstaff, but instead he's sport-suing his employers for personal gain. That seems just as bad or worse than the treatment he's received from the string of restaurants that have had the misfortune of hiring him.
posted by Maaik at 7:07 AM on March 21, 2011 [3 favorites]

To fellow waiters, Eddie is an unlikely if not unlikable hero who calls out Miami restaurants on the hundreds of ways they steal from employees.

Well clearly I'm not a waiter because he sounds like a tool.