Join 3,495 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)


Review with Myles Barlow
December 22, 2011 2:16 PM   Subscribe

After leaving the warmth and comfort of ordinary humor and setting forth on the ship of outlandishness, Myles Barlow navigates the sea of dark comedy as he reviews life experiences, so his viewers don't have to. Come, let us raise our binoculars and view the great black whale of humanity after the jump.

The episodes cover a wide range of experiences, such as:
Stealing (1, 2)
Murder (1, 2)
Vanity (1, 2)
Stress (1, 2)
Heroism (1, 2, 3)
Criticism (1, 2)
Paying for Sex (1, 2)
Voyeurism (1, 2)
Divorce (1, 2, 3)
Reconciliation (1, 2)
Betrayal (1, 2)

More can found on YouTube and the official website
posted by Brandon Blatcher (12 comments total) 16 users marked this as a favorite

 
Damn! - I was going to do a Myles Barlow post after the Christmas special last year, but for some reason thought it was going to be a double.

(The thing that impressed me most about the show was the care taken in the standing intro to each piece. If you look at the video screens in the background, the cut between the full and close-up shots is almost seamless, with the text being in exactly the same place across the shots.

I'm not sure if that means I'm easily impressed, or that small things amuse small minds…)

posted by Pinback at 2:30 PM on December 22, 2011


That shit's fuckin' gold, and his flowery metaphors might be the best part. Apparently Comedy Central recently signed Andrew Daly to do a US version.
posted by gman at 2:33 PM on December 22, 2011


Terrific use of pataphor in the review conclusions
posted by blasdelf at 2:54 PM on December 22, 2011 [2 favorites]


Not even LiB – now silenced on the underside of the blue – could conjure a maelstrom of malicious, anti-Aussie snark virulent enough to dull the brilliance that is Myles Barlow.
posted by gman at 3:06 PM on December 22, 2011


Love it. The xmas special (maybe last year's, but I only saw it recently) had him playing the Ghost of Christmas Past, by kidnapping a Sham-wow style salesman & holding him hostage whilst playing out the Dickensian moralisms. This was in the guise of road-testing "doing good deeds".
posted by UbuRoivas at 3:36 PM on December 22, 2011


It's the dead pan seriousness of the summaries that does it for me, those are freakin' priceless.
posted by Brandon Blatcher at 3:59 PM on December 22, 2011


In the pursuit of life's goals, the accursed handjob remains a formidable distraction.

Truer words.
posted by pts at 4:12 PM on December 22, 2011


This is awesome. So funny. Thanks for posting.
posted by falameufilho at 4:40 PM on December 22, 2011


Fishing without bait might actually be better than fishing with bait.
posted by Xoebe at 4:55 PM on December 22, 2011


This is one of those shows that makes me cringe, hide my face in my love's shoulder and groan 'noooo!'. I love it.
In summation, murder does hold a brutal almost primeval thrill. The rush of adrenaline as you snuff the flame of life from your victim's wick does bring with it an incredible surge of power.

But this barbaric sensation is quickly eclipsed however by endless waves of guilt crashing against you in a storm of remorse which has been whipped into a frenzy by a cyclone of self-hatred. Whether it be a crime of passion or in cold blood, murder is morally void of all sense and all reason. It is a brutal, malicious often time consuming act of ungodly evil.

Half a star.
posted by Kerasia at 5:14 PM on December 22, 2011


I know, right? The writing is tight, the delivery perfect and the humor just drifts like barbecue from a neighbor's yard, making you hungry for more.
posted by Brandon Blatcher at 5:23 PM on December 22, 2011


Little tops Divorce (1/2 a star), but I suggest you find the one where he starts a cult.
posted by fFish at 7:08 AM on December 23, 2011


« Older The house Greek Revival subway ventilator on Joral...  |  The Pakistanis Have A Point: ... Newer »


This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments