This is ODD. I was reading a flash/videogame forum and clicked this one looking for more video game information. Any info?
posted by Niahmas (21 comments total)
Here is a Mirror of the old site ? posted by Niahmas at 9:48 AM on December 27, 2001
irritating porn pop-ups come with link
Niahmas, warn us of these things, please. posted by ashbury at 9:56 AM on December 27, 2001
No pop-ups for me. ashbury, are you running spyware?
This smells like a hoax. 'Florida Univeristy'? The language is not how scientists write; rather, it sounds like what a layperson might believe a scientist would write.
Wild-Assed Guess: maybe something related to Majestic? posted by Slithy_Tove at 10:13 AM on December 27, 2001
It's always charming to read the fruits of a such a dedicated schizophrenic's labour. posted by Pinwheel at 10:14 AM on December 27, 2001
Speaking as someone familiar with scientific writing, let me pronounce this totally bogus. Not a word rings true. Also, note the redundant honorifics of the author: Doctor Timothy Johnson, Ph.D. No one makes that mistake in the real world. posted by Faze at 10:25 AM on December 27, 2001
[Speaking as someone familiar with scientific writing, let me pronounce this totally bogus. ]
Agreed - It's either fake or extremely disturbing that people with that technology write like that.
What's with the pop-up's? I did not get any and feel left out... posted by revbrian at 10:30 AM on December 27, 2001
Leaving aside the spelling and punctuation mistakes ("saught"?), this would never, ever get past a modern ethics committee. Since the Milgram experiments psychologists are not generally allowed to mess with your mind too severely - and they certainly aren't allowed to crack web sites to further their research. Consider - even if you, the dedicated but loony psych researcher, want to do this, where could you publish? posted by i_am_joe's_spleen at 10:36 AM on December 27, 2001
Also, searching by the domain name found some interesting pages within the site. Definitely a cracker's domain... "TheBlueDeamon" came up in one of the hits. posted by bschoate at 11:24 AM on December 27, 2001
This hoax reminds me of a web version of the secretive group in the movie "The Parallax View." In the movie, this secret group recruits people with anti-social behavior to be brainwashed to assassinate political figures. posted by stevis at 11:46 AM on December 27, 2001
someone "finger" the domain and find out who registered it and when. looks like a "majestic" prop, as slithy_tove pointed out... posted by rhizome23 at 1:56 PM on December 27, 2001
I found out today how to build an A-bomb. Its really simple, in a way. All you do is take an atomic core surround it with plastic explosives and WALLA you have one atomic bomb. If you want i can explain why, or how this works. Just reply :)
Its ViRiOn here. Just thought I drop little presents for our porn fiends out there, enjoy.
Every link I click on at the page is dead. posted by suprfli at 9:10 PM on December 27, 2001
I agree. If I could get there from here...
Although, from reading your comments (and being an ex-Majestic player - BAD customer support), it doesn't seem a prop... posted by Samizdata at 9:49 PM on December 27, 2001
looks like the website is being run off a home pc in new york via road runner cable:
hostname:cm-24-169-11-49.nycap.rr.com posted by rhizome23 at 10:50 PM on December 27, 2001
This seems to be an elaborate net hoax. Abused child grows up and cons herself into believing she was part of a government conspiracy.
posted by Niahmas at 9:48 AM on December 27, 2001