Skip

ArtReview.com
February 22, 2008 10:38 AM   Subscribe

Create your own Pollock [Friday Flash Fun] and some decent art -related content , utilties and blogs as well on ArtReview.com
posted by psmealey (33 comments total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

 
For the ten millionth time... it is PollOck.
posted by R. Mutt at 10:43 AM on February 22, 2008


And you kids get off my damn lawn.
posted by R. Mutt at 10:45 AM on February 22, 2008


Here's my pollack.
posted by Floydd at 10:53 AM on February 22, 2008 [1 favorite]


omg, racist jokes on the fp
posted by DU at 10:54 AM on February 22, 2008


As someone whose last name is Pollock, I have to say that my name is spelled "Pollack" 70% of the time, even by people who are reading off of a typed sheet on which my name is spelled correctly. I don't understand it, but it often results because someone assumes I'm jewish.
posted by OmieWise at 10:56 AM on February 22, 2008


This is making my art snob genes mutate. DAMN YOU, POSTMODERNISM!
posted by Ambrosia Voyeur at 10:56 AM on February 22, 2008


See? Stuff like this pisses me off. Yea, anyone can do an abstract painting now, but back when it was being done for the first time it was shocking and cutting edge.
posted by 45moore45 at 10:56 AM on February 22, 2008


I'm forwarding this to my undergraduate painting class. Ha! It's actually pretty good!
posted by ducky l'orange at 10:57 AM on February 22, 2008


Also, one of my favorite anecdotes about the Abstract Expressionists is that one day Willem de Kooning and someone else, maybe Ad Reinhardt, went over to Pollock's house cheer him up. The found him in basically a drunken and depressed stupor, not having produced any work for a long time. They took him out to his studio, and layed down a canvas, and proceeded to try to buck him up by putting the brush in his hand and moving his arm in order to make a "Pollock." All the while saying, "C'mon, you know how to do this, you know how this goes," etc. The painting hangs in MOMA, where a couple of my MFA friends pointed it out to me. I don't know if the story is true, but it seems widely known, as more than one person has told me they're familiar with it.
posted by OmieWise at 11:01 AM on February 22, 2008


This is the same as the "create your own Pollack" link, but full screen.
posted by k8lin at 11:02 AM on February 22, 2008


I splashed for about 10 minutes and the results looked nothing like a Pollock, which I take as evidence that there was a lot more craft to his work than you at first realize. Anyone who says "I can do that" hasn't tried.
posted by Astro Zombie at 11:03 AM on February 22, 2008 [3 favorites]


omg, racist jokes on the fp

DU WTF?
posted by psmealey at 11:03 AM on February 22, 2008


[I've pollocked the pollack for posterity. As you were.]
posted by cortex at 11:05 AM on February 22, 2008 [1 favorite]


I said "I can do that, " and then tried. After 10 minutes, it looked exactly right. Therefore Anyone who says "I can do that" has tried.
posted by ba at 11:08 AM on February 22, 2008



I said "I can do that, " and then tried. After 10 minutes, it looked exactly right. Therefore Anyone who says "I can do that" has tried.


Good, now get them to hang it in the Tate Modern and you'll really have done it.

Conversely, try to sell it now.
posted by Keith Talent at 11:22 AM on February 22, 2008


back when it was being done for the first time it was shocking and cutting edge.

Plus, instead of using a mouse and a powerful new desktop like me, Pollock used punch cards and a clunky old room-sized UNIVAC.
posted by googly at 11:23 AM on February 22, 2008 [4 favorites]


I splashed for about 10 minutes and the results looked nothing like a Pollock[...]

Somehow, I got mine to look like a Lee Krasner.
posted by horsewithnoname at 11:32 AM on February 22, 2008


Remember when McDonald's was going to re-invent the Filet O'Fish, and they hired, like, a panel of expert chefs from around the world to decide what kind of fish to use? Ooh, excitement! Maybe they'll choose salmon, or tilapia, or fugu! But, lo and behold, when they finally made their decision, it turned out to be the same old pollack that Ronald had been using all along.

Please tell me I'm not imagining this whole story.
posted by box at 11:38 AM on February 22, 2008


What self respecting chef would serve on a panel to evaluate a plastic fish burger from McDonalds? Come on, it's not even real food.
posted by 45moore45 at 11:47 AM on February 22, 2008


My five year old daughter could do that.

She's an exceptional Flash programmer.
posted by The Loch Ness Monster at 11:54 AM on February 22, 2008 [4 favorites]


Yes, but is it art?
posted by not_on_display at 11:56 AM on February 22, 2008


What self respecting chef...

Andrew Selvaggio.
posted by box at 11:58 AM on February 22, 2008


I'm sorry to see this site giving what's his face credit AGAIN for the flash app he stole from Stamen Design (which, by the way, is available from them under a CC license).
posted by oneirodynia at 12:03 PM on February 22, 2008 [1 favorite]


"this site" = Art Review.
posted by oneirodynia at 12:05 PM on February 22, 2008


That's neato.

The museum of online museums that's linked to in the blog section is really cool, too.

Thanks, psmealey.
posted by cog_nate at 12:06 PM on February 22, 2008


I think I did mine wrong.

*Hangs head*
posted by Alvy Ampersand at 12:16 PM on February 22, 2008 [3 favorites]


ba--
I just paypal-ed you $300,000 USD for your Pollock.
(That'll fix Keith's wagon...)
posted by Dizzy at 12:39 PM on February 22, 2008


The only way I could create my own, authentic Pollock would be to impregnate a female humanoid of his kin and create a Pollock for our new millennium. Hopefully one without the Picasso complex and alcoholism.

Pretty soon, people will buy felt and fat by the bucketload, throw it into a convenient corner and create their own Beuys.
posted by flippant at 1:40 PM on February 22, 2008


I would jump for joy, but I'm an artist now. And we sulk.
posted by ba at 1:58 PM on February 22, 2008


So enjoyed that psmealey. ArtReview is an excellent site. It's packed with art info, links, what's happening in the art world. Seconding the awesomeness of the museum of online museums, MoOm, link. wow. An online visual smörgåsbord of all kinds of obscure stuff.

I adore Pollock's work. Love that light, layered nets and webs, leaf skeleton lacework aspect to his visuals. Somehow like calligraphy. Peering through a forest or the fog sort of feeling, sometimes darkly passionate, sometimes dancing or urban-tribal. I find it very inviting and freeing to my less conscious/unconscious mind.

In the make your own version of an artist's work there's the online Andy Warhol silkscreen generator, which is fun too.

Am enjoying the Francis Bacon documentary now on the ArtReview site. Always wondered about him and never have seen a video about him before. He lived at 7 Reece Mews, near where I lived in London, in Stanhope Gardens, Kensington, in the early 70's. Wondered if there were an image of his place and sure enough, there is. I used to go have wiener schnitzel at a little restaurant near his studio and walk down the short mews, looking at the boarded up windows of the small building, wondering and curious about the artist who worked or lived in such a derelict and miserable looking place from the exterior (turns out it was chaotic on the inside), what he was like as a person to paint such nightmare, purgatorial visions.

The other treasures on that ArtReview site are wonderful.
posted by nickyskye at 2:15 PM on February 22, 2008 [2 favorites]


Me and Mrs. Ogre Lawless Pollock have been trying to create one for, like, almost a year now. Damned infertility!
posted by Ogre Lawless at 2:48 PM on February 22, 2008


That was harder than I thought, but I swear, I made it myself!
posted by Edgewise at 4:17 PM on February 22, 2008


Who the fuck is Jackson Pollock?
posted by The Deej at 5:34 AM on February 23, 2008


« Older Church giggles to the extreme   |   No dueling Newer »


This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments



Post