Join 3,425 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

9 posts tagged with Restaurant and review. (View popular tags)
Displaying 1 through 9 of 9. Subscribe:

"I usually like chicken nuggets, but not these chicken nuggets."

"FOUR-YEAR-OLD REVIEWS PLUM RESTAURANT (WITH HER FACE)"
posted by davidstandaford on May 2, 2014 - 145 comments

It's no Flavortown

The first time I ate at Villard Michel Richard, the latest restaurant to dance among the frescoes and marble pilasters of the Villard mansion in Midtown, I strongly suspected that I was in an awful hotel restaurant. This seemed like a connect-the-dots conclusion. It’s a restaurant. It’s in a hotel, the New York Palace. And it was awful.
posted by Chrysostom on Jan 15, 2014 - 42 comments

The St. Louis Slinger Tour

The bloggers at The St. Louis Slinger Tour have completed their comprehensive 16 month review of the Slingers available at 58 different St. Louis area restaurants. Follow them chronologically or check out Tim and Tony's Top 10 for later enjoyment (consensus favorite: The Sidebar). Also available for your convenience is a list of the worst Slingers in St. Louis (e.g. Uncle Bill's), to be avoided or ordered out of morbid curiosity. [more inside]
posted by jedicus on Jul 24, 2013 - 37 comments

Funeral Wreaths from Chefs

"I was never threatened covering the cops beat nor while reporting on a big Mafia trial, but I was threatened – twice – for writing negative reviews of two restaurants. Shows where the passion is, I guess." Restaurant critics write about (and link to) their most negative reviews and discuss the measured and reasonable responses they received after their publication. [more inside]
posted by the young rope-rider on Dec 27, 2012 - 54 comments

"Michelin-starred restaurants began to look and taste the same."

Vanity Fair: What's Wrong With The Michelin Guide. Esquire:Why It's Hard To Trust The Michelin Standards. FT:Star-Crossed: Once universally revered, the Michelin Guide is now dismissed by some as a relic of a bygone age
posted by the man of twists and turns on Dec 14, 2012 - 56 comments

The Pickiness Of The Masses

Fuck You Yelper, a collection of unhelpfulful Yelp reviews
posted by The Whelk on Aug 4, 2011 - 148 comments

Loving Hut

"You know there's a perfectly good brisket back at the house we could be eating instead, Jo Ann?" One of what I can only imagine is the very small number of people to appear on both Wikipedia's list of "self-described messiahs" and its list of "restaurateurs," Supreme Master Ching Hai is known for the Quan Yin Method as well as the Loving Hut chain of vegan restaurants.
Apparently the latter serve some pretty tasty cuisine.
Previously on Metafilter.
posted by Neofelis on May 13, 2010 - 33 comments

Will Self reviews fast food

"Real Meals": Will Self's (relatively) new fortnightly restaurant column reviewing high street food outlets for The New Statesman. Thus far: McDonald's, KFC, Indian Restaurant, Starbucks, Subway.
posted by hydatius on Nov 27, 2009 - 72 comments

Now for some actual Bruce Schneier facts

You know Bruce Schneier the polymath security genius. Now meet Bruce Schneier the kind-hearted reviewer of local Minnesota restaurants. (He doesn't like to give bad reviews -- sounds like "security through obscurity" to me!)
[previously, also]
posted by grobstein on Feb 13, 2007 - 15 comments

Page: 1