<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
    xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
     xmlns:admin="http://webns.net/mvcb/"
     xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
     xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">
	<channel>
	<title>MetaFilter posts tagged with ceaseanddesist</title>
	<link>http://www.metafilter.com/tags/ceaseanddesist</link>
	<description>Posts tagged with 'ceaseanddesist' at MetaFilter.</description>
	<pubDate>Fri, 09 Feb 2007 09:54:15 -0800</pubDate> <lastBuildDate>Fri, 09 Feb 2007 09:54:15 -0800</lastBuildDate>

	<language>en-us</language>
	<docs>http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss</docs>
	<ttl>60</ttl>
	<item>
		<title>Oscar the Grouch</title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/58479/Oscar%2Dthe%2DGrouch</link>
		<description>&lt;a href="http://www.oscarwatch.com/2007/02/oscarwatchcom.html"&gt;AMPAS ankles Oscarwatch skein&lt;/a&gt; The &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.oscars.org/&quot;&gt;Academy&lt;/a&gt; has brought the banhammer down on the &lt;a href=&quot;http://oscarwatch.com/&quot;&gt;Oscarwatch blog&lt;/a&gt;, issuing a demand that blogger Sasha Stone cease and desist from using the Oscar trademark in her domain name. Why now after 7 1/2 years of blogging under that name? Maybe because they found out about &lt;a href=&quot;http://hollywood-elsewhere.com/archives/2007/02/ampas_vs_sasha.php&quot;&gt;her whopping $20k yearly ad revenue&lt;/a&gt;.  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2007:site.58479</guid>
		<pubDate>Fri, 09 Feb 2007 09:54:15 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>academyawards</category>
		<category>AMPAS</category>
		<category>ceaseanddesist</category>
		<category>oscars</category>
		<category>oscarwatch</category>
		<dc:creator>Horace Rumpole</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title>Next thing you know, they&apos;ll be going after Boggle.</title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/31031/Next%2Dthing%2Dyou%2Dknow%2Dtheyll%2Dbe%2Dgoing%2Dafter%2DBoggle</link>
		<description>&lt;a href="http://www.booble.com/"&gt;Adult search engine, Booble.com&lt;/a&gt; has received a cease and desist order from &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.google.com&quot;&gt;Google&lt;/a&gt; on the grounds of trademark infringement. &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.booble.com/legal.html&quot;&gt;Read Google&apos;s letter&lt;/a&gt; and Booble&apos;s &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.booble.com/legal.html&quot;&gt;response&lt;/a&gt;. &lt;small&gt;all links are work safe.&lt;/small&gt;  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2004:site.31031</guid>
		<pubDate>Thu, 29 Jan 2004 12:06:54 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>booble</category>
		<category>ceaseanddesist</category>
		<category>google</category>
		<category>searchengine</category>
		<category>trademark</category>
		<category>trademarkinfringement</category>
		<dc:creator>paulrockNJ</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/16514/</link>
		<description> From the little guy continues to get the shaft department:  The &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.ups.com/&quot;&gt;United Parcel Service&lt;/a&gt; last month filed a &lt;a href=&quot;http://tess.uspto.gov/bin/showfield?f=doc&amp;state=mv7e20.2.1&quot;&gt;trademark registration&lt;/a&gt; on &quot;Big Brown.&quot;  The ink on the app is barely dry, and already they are throwing out &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.bigbrown.com/letter1.jpg&quot;&gt;cease and desist&lt;/a&gt; letters.  Victim number one:  the guy who registered &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.bigbrown.com/&quot;&gt;bigbrown.com&lt;/a&gt; back in 1997. (via &lt;a href=&quot;http://cgi.fark.com/cgi/fark/comments.pl?IDLink=161570&quot;&gt;fark&lt;/a&gt;)  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2002:site.16514</guid>
		<pubDate>Fri, 19 Apr 2002 16:28:14 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>bigbrown</category>
		<category>ceaseanddesist</category>
		<category>trademark</category>
		<category>ups</category>
		<category>viafark</category>
		<dc:creator>chipr</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/1988/</link>
		<description>&lt;a href="http://www.sonicnet.com/news/story.jhtml?genreNameForDisplay=Rock&amp;amp;genreDirectoryName=rock&amp;amp;id=971590"&gt;Too funny...&lt;/a&gt; &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.napster.com&quot;&gt;Napster&lt;/a&gt; has hit &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.offspring.com&quot;&gt;The Offspring&lt;/a&gt; with a cease-and-desist order after the band started selling merchanidise emblazened with the Napster logo.

Boo Napster.  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2000:site.1988</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 05 Jun 2000 12:58:11 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>brokenlink</category>
		<category>CeaseAndDesist</category>
		<category>copyright</category>
		<category>logo</category>
		<category>music</category>
		<category>Napster</category>
		<category>TheOffspring</category>
		<dc:creator>PWA_BadBoy</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/1785/</link>
		<description> Yet Another Domain Name Dispute Develops (YADNDD): &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.chunkymunky.com/&quot;&gt;chunkymunky.com&lt;/a&gt; gets a Cease &amp; Desist from &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.chunkymonkey.com/&quot;&gt;chunkymonkey.com&lt;/a&gt;. One is a windows software site, the other a fan site about a cartoon character. Is there any cause for confusion on the part of users wanting to visit either site (actually, one would have to misspell &quot;monkey&quot; in order to get to the windows site)? Should the chunkymunky.com site owner have taken down his/her site? Who is going to protect domain owners from future things like this happening?  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2000:site.1785</guid>
		<pubDate>Tue, 23 May 2000 10:07:18 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>brokenlink</category>
		<category>CeaseAndDesist</category>
		<category>ChunkyMonkey</category>
		<category>ChunkyMunky</category>
		<category>DomainNames</category>
		<category>domains</category>
		<category>internet</category>
		<category>websites</category>
		<dc:creator>mathowie</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/1522/</link>
		<description> I actually wouldn&apos;t mind seeing the plaintiffs behind this &lt;a href=http://www.digitaldivas.com/gol/&gt;cease-and-desist&lt;/a&gt; order win their case.  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2000:site.1522</guid>
		<pubDate>Tue, 02 May 2000 08:01:46 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>brokenlink</category>
		<category>CeaseAndDesist</category>
		<category>DigitalDivas</category>
		<category>Microsoft</category>
		<category>trademark</category>
		<dc:creator>ratbastard</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/436/</link>
		<description>&lt;a href="http://www.johnvanderslice.com/"&gt;Here&apos;s the homepage&lt;/a&gt; of the guy that wrote the song &quot;&lt;a href=&apos;http://www.johnvanderslice.com/mp3sjv/jv_01_bill_gates_must_die.mp3&apos;&gt;Bill Gates Must Die&lt;/a&gt;&quot; which prompted Microsoft&apos;s legal team to send him &lt;a href=&apos;http://www.johnvanderslice.com/graphics/microfax.GIF&apos;&gt;a cease-and-desist letter&lt;/a&gt;  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,1999:site.436</guid>
		<pubDate>Wed, 22 Dec 1999 11:34:42 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>BillGates</category>
		<category>BillGatesMustDie</category>
		<category>CeaseAndDesist</category>
		<category>JohnVanderslice</category>
		<category>Microsoft</category>
		<category>music</category>
		<category>musician</category>
		<category>song</category>
		<dc:creator>mathowie</dc:creator>
	</item>
      
	</channel>
</rss>


