<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
    xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
     xmlns:admin="http://webns.net/mvcb/"
     xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
     xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">
	<channel>
	<title>MetaFilter posts tagged with whois and domains</title>
	<link>http://www.metafilter.com/tags/whois+domains</link>
	<description>Posts tagged with 'whois' and 'domains' at MetaFilter.</description>
	<pubDate>Tue, 03 Sep 2002 17:50:55 -0800</pubDate> <lastBuildDate>Tue, 03 Sep 2002 17:50:55 -0800</lastBuildDate>

	<language>en-us</language>
	<docs>http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss</docs>
	<ttl>60</ttl>
	<item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/19680/</link>
		<description>&lt;a href="http://www.icann.org/correspondence/touton-letter-to-beckwith-03sep02.htm"&gt;&quot;VeriSign got in trouble,&lt;/a&gt; &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.icann.org/announcements/announcement-03sep02.htm&quot;&gt;VeriSign got in trouble!&quot;&lt;/a&gt; ICANN serves VeriSign with a formal notice of breach of its accreditation agreement for its mishandling of WHOIS data under its control (.com addresses). VeriSign has 15 days to smarten up or it could lose the .com registry.  (&lt;i&gt;via &lt;a href=&quot;http://boingboing.net/2002_09_01_archive.html#85410597&quot;&gt;Boing Boing&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/i&gt;)  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2002:site.19680</guid>
		<pubDate>Tue, 03 Sep 2002 17:50:55 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>domains</category>
		<category>icann</category>
		<category>registrar</category>
		<category>verisign</category>
		<category>whois</category>
		<dc:creator>mcwetboy</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/18495/</link>
		<description>&lt;a href="http://perpetualbeta.com/woifm/archive/002297.html"&gt;Score one for the good guys.&lt;/a&gt;  Smug.com has been returned to its &lt;a href=http://betterwhois.com/bwhois.cgi?domain=smug.com&gt;rightful owner&lt;/a&gt;.  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2002:site.18495</guid>
		<pubDate>Wed, 17 Jul 2002 07:37:41 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>domains</category>
		<category>registrar</category>
		<category>smug.com</category>
		<category>whois</category>
		<dc:creator>ratbastard</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/15511/</link>
		<description>&lt;a href="http://www.domainsurfer.com/"&gt;Domain Surfer &lt;/a&gt; is just plain cool. I mean... now I can see if a text string appears &lt;i&gt;anywhere&lt;/i&gt; in a domain, and the results are clickable (note to the folks who do those awful WHOIS searches: I don&apos;t care who registered it, I care whether it&apos;s up-and-running!). Anyway, the link is via &lt;a href=&quot;http://rion.nu/&quot; target=&quot;NewWindow&quot;&gt;Rion.nu&lt;/a&gt; who, BTW, has some wonderful &lt;a href=&quot;http://rion.nu/photospace/archive/00000035.html&quot; target=&quot;NewWindow&quot;&gt;photographs of the Tribute of Light&lt;/a&gt;.

&lt;small&gt;And the link to the photographs came via &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lightningfield.com/&quot; target=&quot;NewWindow&quot;&gt;David Gallagher&lt;/a&gt;... another fine photographer, not to be confused with that ijit from Oasis.&lt;/small&gt;  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2002:site.15511</guid>
		<pubDate>Thu, 14 Mar 2002 07:59:10 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>domains</category>
		<category>internet</category>
		<category>search</category>
		<category>web</category>
		<category>whois</category>
		<dc:creator>silusGROK</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/5602/</link>
		<description>&lt;a href="http://www.networksolutions.com"&gt;Feeling Safe about the Keeper of Domain Names&lt;/a&gt; Anyone notice that at least at 10:30am EST that Network Solutions homepage brings up an Error page?  Doesn&apos;t that make us all feel safe.

And then there was the Registrars.com registrar transfer form which didn&apos;t think the domain I was trying to transfer had been registered (but if you used their WHOIS it showed it was).  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2001:site.5602</guid>
		<pubDate>Wed, 31 Jan 2001 07:39:42 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>domains</category>
		<category>icann</category>
		<category>networksolutions</category>
		<category>urls</category>
		<category>whois</category>
		<dc:creator>matte</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/4909/</link>
		<description>&lt;a href="http://www.e-com-con.com"&gt;Gadzooks!! What in the name of H-E-double-hockey-sticks is going on here?&lt;/a&gt; Check on the products and then visit &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.octiumchip.com&quot;&gt;this&lt;/a&gt; site.  Then do a little &lt;a href=&quot;http://networksolutions.com/cgi-bin/whois/whois?STRING=www.octiumchip.com&quot;&gt;WHOIS&lt;/a&gt; sniffing and try to wrap your mind around the fact that they are both registered to  
&lt;BR&gt;Registrant:
Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation&lt;BR&gt;(E-COM-CON-DOM)&lt;BR&gt;
10201 W. Pico Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90035  US&lt;BR&gt;
&lt;FONT SIZE=-2&gt;sort of via &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.memepool.com&quot;&gt;memepool&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;/FONT&gt;
 </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2000:site.4909</guid>
		<pubDate>Fri, 22 Dec 2000 14:36:06 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>brokenlink</category>
		<category>conspiracy</category>
		<category>domains</category>
		<category>urls</category>
		<category>whois</category>
		<category>xfiles</category>
		<dc:creator>donkeysuck</dc:creator>
	</item>
      <item>
		<title></title>
		<link>http://www.metafilter.com/4351/</link>
		<description> &lt;a href= &quot;http://www.google.com/search?q=ult+search+inc&amp;num=20&amp;hl=en&amp;lr=&amp;safe=off&amp;btnG=Google+Search&quot; title= &quot;Google search for Ult Search Inc&quot;&gt;Who are these guys?&lt;/a&gt; And why have they registered a thousand or more domains, only to have them all point at the same generic portal? I bumped into them three times today while doing searches for &lt;a href= &quot;http://www.dynhtml.com&quot; title= &quot;http://www.dynhtml.com&quot;&gt;DHTML&lt;/a&gt;, &lt;a href= &quot;http://wwwvoice.com/bud/bud.html&quot; title= &quot;http://wwwvoice.com/bud/bud.html&quot;&gt;Budd Uggly&lt;/a&gt;, and &lt;a href= &quot;http://www.worldboxing.com/&quot; title= &quot;http://www.worldboxing.com/&quot;&gt;boxing&lt;/a&gt;. No banners, no logo, no company info, and search results are a framed page from goto.com. Strange.  </description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">tag:metafilter.com,2000:site.4351</guid>
		<pubDate>Sat, 18 Nov 2000 14:08:13 -0800</pubDate>
		<category>dns</category>
		<category>domains</category>
		<category>goto</category>
		<category>urls</category>
		<category>whois</category>
		<dc:creator>nikzhowz</dc:creator>
	</item>
      
	</channel>
</rss>


