tonalist's videos: contemporary music in Moscow
May 9, 2011 3:16 AM   Subscribe

tonalist (aka composer Pavel Karmanov) is a YouTube user who has uploaded numerous videos featuring performances of contemporary/classical music from the former Soviet Union...

For example:
- Karmanov's own 'Cambridge Music' and 'Twice a Double Concerto';
- Christmas Song, Sarabanda and Blossoming Jasmine, by the Latvian composer Georgs Pelēcis;
- Ukrainian composer Valentin Silvestrov's Kitsch-Musik for piano, and an un-named choral work (or works) also by Silvestrov;
- Anton Batagov's Pustota, part 3 (Batagov, along with Karmanov, Vladimir Martynov & Sergei Zagny have been featured in a documentary entitled After Bach);
- Vladimir Martynov's 'deti vydry' (other works by Martynov elsewhere on YouTube include excerpts from Children of the Otter featuring the Tuvan ensemble Huun Huur Tu).
Many of tonalist's videos showcase performances at the ДОМ Cultural Centre in Moscow, a few more of which follow:
- Philip Glass's String Quartet no.5, performed by the ODEONQUARTET;
- The same quartet performing Tenebrae, by Osvaldo Golijov;
- Steve Reich's Double Sextet;
- Moz Art à la Haydn, by Alfred Schnittke.
posted by misteraitch (3 comments total) 13 users marked this as a favorite
There goes my evening.
posted by Coaticass at 5:05 AM on May 9, 2011

Fantastic ! Thank you !
posted by nicolin at 6:27 AM on May 9, 2011

Just listened to Karmanov's two—sublime!
posted by SNACKeR at 12:25 PM on May 9, 2011

« Older Don't you let that deal go down.   |   “meaningful adjacencies” Newer »

This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments