February 6, 2000
6:45 PM   Subscribe

Today I was once again reminded why I hate domain squatters so much. I wanted to find the website for Scream 3, but scream3.com is some half-assed hacked site. Every domain with "scream3" in it seems to be taken (some by Miramax), but none of them resolve to a movie site. The only one that looks halfway official is in french. Here it is, opening weekend, and there doesn't seem to be an official site up that I can use.
posted by mathowie (3 comments total)
Well, it looks like something is wrong with their server config right now, but scream3.com is indeed the official site. I don't know exactly what you expected to find, but here's the entry point for fake hacks of fake pages about fake movies starring fake actors.
posted by jjg at 8:08 PM on February 6, 2000

Do you think domain squatters are somehow related to car salesmen (especially Audi's), white supremists, Seattle Police, medical 'professionals', and the like?
posted by greyscale at 8:21 PM on February 6, 2000

Believe it or not, Scream3.com IS the official site, or rather the site for the movie-within-the-movie, "Stab3", and its ficticious production company, "Sunrise Studios". You can find the page that is supposed to be the front page here. It's all inside jokes (Check out the studio's Jobs Page) and yes, it is half-assed, and so incompetently done it gives the HTML-impaired like me hope of getting a job in Hollywood. But the "hack" is just part of the inside joke, linking to the Sunrise Sucks site. Not that I would know anything about fake hacks.
posted by wendell at 8:23 PM on February 6, 2000

« Older The owners of the i.am domain   |   Newer »

This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments