SubscribeWhile waiting for his response, I decided, that because it was my original sale, I would report the account to eBay. I went through all the hoops, filled out all the forms. To sum it up, I let them know what we discovered, and asked them to take some action. This is what I get:
Hello,
Thank you for writing to eBay's Customer Support with your concerns. My name is John and I appreciate the chance to answer your question. I'm happy to assist you further.
An Escrow service allows the buyer to send their money to the Escrow Company, and the Seller then ships the item to the Buyer. Once the Buyer approves the item the Escrow service then pays the Seller. eBay recommends escrow for transactions over $500.00.
The Escrow service affiliated with eBay is called Escrow.com. eBay encourages members to take advantage of the assurance that escrow services can provide. For more information on escrow, please see the following eBay page:
http://pages.ebay.com/help/sell/escrow.html
I wish you the best with your future transactions.
Regards,
John W. S.
eBay Customer Support
WELL THANK YOU JOHN! MY CUP RUNETH OVER! Let’s see. . . someone is reporting an obvious scam and fake escrow site. Obviously he has no idea what escrow is. BETTER SCHOOL HIM!
This just plain pissed me off. Can this be their response to other reports of scams?
Perhaps this email was a little too angry:
Hi John,
Not to be rude, but I know quite well what escrow is. I also happen to know that this is an obvious scam attempt. Had you actually read the form I filled out on your site, and not replied with the canned response: Escrow 101, you would notice that I did not ask what escrow was. I was reporting someone wants to settle the sale outside of ebay, through an escrow site he referred me to. A site that claims to be a VeriSign secure site, but then you click the logo, he is hosting the VeriSign page -the page that should take you to the verisign site. This is a text book rip off.
This can't be your answer to everyone who reports these types of things can it? I really think you should take some action against this person.
Jeff
Rhig came out of the closet to say...
"He paid the fee and there was a lot of rustling, he was opening one of the boxes, there was more angry raised voices and the barber said something like "is it broken etc", the guy said something like its wrong/mistake I don't think he really understood the joke right away. There was more raised voices but not real arguing, the guy didn’t suspect the barber of anything and didn’t as far as I know explain what happen to him. Probably to keep his post office box if the barbers not in on it."
Received: from [82.42.50.228] (helo=paul-rlmc0c0snw.net)and the next one
by h-2.properhosting.com with smtp (Exim 4.24; FreeBSD 4.8)
id 1BPmqw-0005E1-Th
for mynameisjeff@bootsix.net; Mon, 17 May 2004 14:28:43 -0400
From: scont06@yahoo.com [mailto:scont06@yahoo.com]
Sent: Monday, May 17, 2004 12:29 PM
To: mynameisjeff@bootsix.net
Subject: Re: Thank you!
See attach.
For security purposes the attached file is password protected. Password -- 27735
Return-path: <scont06@yahoo.com>
Envelope-to: mynameisjeff@bootsix.net
Delivery-date: Mon, 17 May 2004 19:02:40 -0400
Received: from [24.112.90.26] (helo=8103g) by h-2.properhosting.com with smtp (Exim 4.24; FreeBSD 4.8) id 1BPr82-0008D0-VJ for mynameisjeff@bootsix.net; Mon, 17 May 2004 19:02:39 -0400
Date: Mon, 17 May 2004 19:04:04 -0500
To: mynameisjeff@bootsix.net
Subject: E-mail account disabling warning.
From: support@bootsix.net
Message-ID: <rkfhawahmfqmluaeaiy@bootsix.net>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="--------qpfmbvnmtvvjaccuaqvi"
From: support@bootsix.net [mailto:support@bootsix.net]
Sent: Monday, May 17, 2004 5:04 PM
To: mynameisjeff@bootsix.net
Subject: E-mail account disabling warning.
Dear user of Bootsix.net,
Our antivirus software has detected a large ammount of viruses outgoing
from your email account, you may use our free anti-virus tool to clean up
your computer software.
Pay attention on attached file.
Attached file protected with the password for security reasons. Password is 03581.
The Management,
The Bootsix.net team http://www.bootsix.net

« Older Shiver me illegally-harvested timbers!... | An extensive article on the hi... Newer »
This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments
posted by holloway at 7:45 PM on May 13, 2004