Skip

Underground-ish rappers review mainstream movies
July 15, 2012 7:00 PM   Subscribe


 
They liked The Muppets, so I approve of this entirely.
posted by hippybear at 7:18 PM on July 15, 2012 [1 favorite]


David Banner couldn't get a ticket to Avengers, I suppose?

(Link blocked at work)
posted by themanwho at 7:28 PM on July 15, 2012 [1 favorite]


[Early threadshitting considered uncouth. Try again?]
posted by jessamyn at 7:53 PM on July 15, 2012 [1 favorite]


The ICP review is worth it if only for "James Woods!"
posted by zardoz at 7:55 PM on July 15, 2012


I want to see MF Doom tee off on the Fantastic Four movies.
posted by Strange Interlude at 7:57 PM on July 15, 2012


David Banner is really charming. ICP mumbles. Thanks for posting these!
posted by the young rope-rider at 8:03 PM on July 15, 2012


MOP are like hip hop grandpas.
posted by mullacc at 8:03 PM on July 15, 2012


On further review, these aren't blocked at work. I assumed they were on YouTube, but nope, they aren't. So I watched the David Banner one.

No real substance to the review, just kind of sounding off. Entertaining enough. Short, like an internet video should be. Looks like they're just having some fun with it.
posted by themanwho at 8:04 PM on July 15, 2012


I fucking BURN to hear Ghostface Killah's thoughts on Pitch Perfect.
posted by elizardbits at 8:15 PM on July 15, 2012 [1 favorite]


see also: Snoop Dogg on the final Twilight installment.

see also: hologram Tupac on basically anything.
posted by elizardbits at 8:17 PM on July 15, 2012


MC Hammer worked the titles of at least 3 of his famous tracks into that review of Thor. And did they tell him it was a review, not an advertisement? That was awful.

Talib was good, though.
posted by axiom at 8:52 PM on July 15, 2012


I think that the negative (deleted) comment did bring up an interesting point. If you find yourself dismissing hip-hop as 'uninteresting, uncultured', you may not realize that the genre spans J-Live's school teacher roots to Missy Elliott's Juan Atkins samples to Jean Grae being the daughter of anti-apartheid South African jazz musicians. Gucci Mane may get lots of negative feedback for his inane lyrics, but you can tell just how much talent/presence he has when he is on a track with a person of lesser skill (apologies in advance). Big Boi's debut solo album received quite a bit of attention from a diverse range of publications--if hip-hop were of no use to culture, the album would probably just have been ignored. There's way more to it than Hot New XY.Z woud lead you to believe!
posted by semaphore at 9:09 PM on July 15, 2012 [1 favorite]


I wonder if they picked M.O.P. for the Muppets because of this video?
posted by muta at 11:28 PM on July 15, 2012


Having Shaggy J confess that he "cried like a grown woman" after watching The Notebook was worth the price of admission .
posted by echolalia67 at 11:46 PM on July 15, 2012


I think that the negative (deleted) comment did bring up an interesting point. If you find yourself dismissing hip-hop as 'uninteresting, uncultured', you may not realize that the genre spans J-Live yt 's school teacher roots to Missy Elliott yt 's Juan Atkins samples to Jean Grae yt being the daughter of anti-apartheid South African jazz musicians yt . Gucci Mane may get lots of negative feedback for his inane lyrics, but you can tell just how much talent/presence he has when he is on a track with a person of lesser skill yt (apologies in advance). Big Boi's debut solo album received quite a bit of attention from a diverse range of publications--if hip-hop were of no use to culture, the album would probably just have been ignored. There's way more to it than Hot New XY.Z woud lead you to believe!


Jessamyn, I'm back on the 'can'. Some hip-hop is cool, but it's been over-hyped by producers and the media, period. Several of the people in those videos are the last thing young kids need to see/hear as role models. It's sickening to see them held up as such. It just bothers me to think that *anyone* holds some of these so-called musicians in high esteem. The only cultural phenomenon they represent is how successful our deranged entertainment media has been in signifying as "cool" everything from sagging; to poor-taste, overdone tats; to people who can't complete a sentence without saying "fuck", or mumbling incoherent shit. Thus, a derivative redneck culture is born. Sample that.

I watched a few music awards shows this past year, and couldn't believe my eyes, or ears - and I'm a pretty eclectic listener. Yeah, you can find good hip-hip on indie radio, but it's the sick crap - the commercial crap - with all its misogyny, over done mud-puddle of lyrics (with super-hooks reigning, so that even a drooling cretin wants to nod to the beat - that's what gets me - like some of the over-souling crap we see in so many of today's singers.
posted by Vibrissae at 11:52 PM on July 15, 2012


that's not just hip hop though, and it's not something that is new. kids shouldn't have looked up to madonna or elvis or the beatles or johnny cash. hell - even just mainstream pop is filled with the culture you complain about - katy perry, gaga - i love them, but they aren't exactly kid friendly. so why are you singling a specific subculture out?

as to the second point, you can totally find good, uplifting, wonderful hip-hop on commercial radio. there's also crap. i can say the same for metal or rock or adult contemporary. there's a lot of issues with who gets famous and what sort of songs are on our airwaves - but that's not a hip-hop problem.
posted by nadawi at 2:11 AM on July 16, 2012


i also don't get the sense this is directed at kids - i mean, i hope kids are listening to krs-one or kool keith or talib kweli or that they know more than just one song by mc hammer - but a lot of the site's choices point to them steering this to the older set. so what does this have to do with rappers as role models?
posted by nadawi at 2:17 AM on July 16, 2012 [1 favorite]


odb on "gummo"
posted by This, of course, alludes to you at 3:12 AM on July 16, 2012 [2 favorites]


If and when white people take over the face of hip hop, the only advantage I see is that "conversations" like the one Vibrissae is having with him/herself will probably stop.
posted by milarepa at 4:02 AM on July 16, 2012 [6 favorites]


Some hip-hop is cool, but it's been over-hyped by producers and the media, period. Several of the people in those videos are the last thing young kids need to see/hear as role models. [Et-bloody-cetera]

Hip-hop is what, roughly thirtyfive years old by now? In other words, old enough that cultural rants like this are long past their sell by date and should only be uttered by those writing for the funnies where it's eternally 1955.
posted by MartinWisse at 5:32 AM on July 16, 2012 [2 favorites]


Elaborating on MartinWissse's comment, it's more than just a multi-generational genre, it's also international, spanning cultural divides and income gaps. And as nadawi said, hip hop is not alone in being a less than stellar source for role models. Look beyond music, and sports are the next significant group of adults that young people respect.

Anyway, I feel bad for Christoph Waltz. James Woods? Of all the actors to be mistaken for, Mr. Woods would not be my pick.
posted by filthy light thief at 6:14 AM on July 16, 2012


I just watched a bunch more of these, and I actually wish they'd deviate from the artist name/movie name associations, and let the musicians pick new movies. Jean Grae was the only one who seemed to be interested in the movie beforehand (and her comment on overlooking how the movie didn't match the canonical universe was amusing).

I kind of hope DJ Paul gets "Moe" to be the new shorthand for "thug."
posted by filthy light thief at 6:41 AM on July 16, 2012


Oldsters gonna old.

Videos didn't work for me though. Let me know when these are up on YouTube.
posted by mike_bling at 7:51 AM on July 16, 2012


I was so hoping those would be written reviews!
posted by fshgrl at 4:08 PM on July 16, 2012


« Older 2012 Tony Awards Performances   |   tut tut tut Newer »


This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments



Post