Tags:


Opera Technical Preview 1 for Mac out Thursday
February 21, 2001 1:07 AM   Subscribe

Opera Technical Preview 1 for Mac out Thursday I like iCab, honest. But until the other day, I'd completely forgotten about these guys. I'm pleased that they haven't forgotten about my peeps.
posted by allaboutgeorge (11 comments total)

 
I can't work out whether it's free or not - is there anything on their site that explains whether you need to pay? It looks like you can either pay or just download. Is the free version restricted in some way?

posted by andrew cooke at 3:10 AM on February 21, 2001


If the Mac version is the same as the PC version of Opera 5, the free version is fully functional but you get banner ads next to the toolbar. As far as I can tell, they seem to sit in a directory on your hard disk and are rotated, I'm not sure how often they are updated but they aren't loaded each time they're displayed.
They used to offer a 30 day trial instead (the nice thing was their trial was 30 days use, not 30 days from the install date) but have now gone with the ad-funded model.
posted by Markb at 3:54 AM on February 21, 2001


The versions that aren't available as banner-ware have a 30 day trail.
posted by jennyb at 8:19 AM on February 21, 2001


And, I've heard, a 30 day trial as well.

...
posted by jennyb at 8:20 AM on February 21, 2001


using the linux version and there aren't any rotating banners
posted by macewan at 3:09 PM on February 21, 2001


Not everything posted above is correct.

Mac version is still in "technical preview": looks to me like it's freeware all the way at this point. Later on they'll probably go with the Opera 5 for Windows scheme.

Windows version 5 is two versions: freeware with ads, or ad-free for $39. (Free upgrade if you bought 4.x -- I bought 3.x, so I'm out of luck.)

The current version for Linux is the same. Earlier versions may have been completely free.

The BeOS and EPOC versions might be trialware.
posted by dhartung at 4:04 PM on February 21, 2001


It's here. I'm downloading it right now.
posted by rory at 4:25 PM on February 21, 2001


It seems to work fine on first impressions, except that <small> renders text in tiny NS 4.x-like size, and: the application won't quit! How annoying. Do other Mac users experience this, or is it just me? I'm running Mac OS 9.04.
posted by rory at 4:53 PM on February 21, 2001


Woah. MeFi's front page makes a good test. Mostly fine, but there's no side-blog. At all.

And when I went to view source to see what was going on, I couldn't. (Okay, so it's a preview.)
posted by rory at 5:10 PM on February 21, 2001


Aha. It doesn't support 'float'. Which rather puts it on the back foot in light of the WaSP's browser upgrade campaign. Hope this is fixed in the final release.
posted by rory at 5:15 PM on February 21, 2001


I thought I posted a quick note in here earlier today about how well the advertisment fits into the browser. It's highly unobtrusive, and if it helps them make money and still give the browser away, well good for them.
posted by cCranium at 5:26 PM on February 21, 2001


« Older Dog Mauling Victim's Partner to Test Wrongful Deat...  |  "...I find the language of Geo... Newer »


This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments