Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)


Daily Show: Decade in Review
December 28, 2009 3:29 AM   Subscribe

The Daily Show's Decade in Review. [Single-link Comedy Central video presentation.]
posted by milquetoast (37 comments total) 21 users marked this as a favorite

 
[That is not available outside the US.]
posted by i_cola at 3:36 AM on December 28, 2009 [1 favorite]


Really? I'm watching it in Hong Kong. If not available on a wide scale, mods feel free to delete.
posted by milquetoast at 3:37 AM on December 28, 2009


Watching in Tokyo.

It's getting tiresome, though. Even though I like the Daily Show, generally.
posted by flapjax at midnite at 3:41 AM on December 28, 2009


It plays fine in Germany.
posted by cmonkey at 3:41 AM on December 28, 2009


I'm watching in Japan as well, but my question is, where is the witty commentary I remember, and who is this man who keeps yelling at me?
posted by Ghidorah at 3:56 AM on December 28, 2009


available in germany too, as is the Daily Show itself on channel 4's website if you are in the UK, though apparently not this particular collection of clips. This one should work if you are in Canada.

If your IP is blocked and you are still desperate to see it you could install hotspot shield, but I should warn you that this is just an incoherent sequence of catchlines and you could spend this half hour of your life doing something more rewarding...
posted by ts;dr at 3:57 AM on December 28, 2009


Iceland checking in, working just fine.

The Daily Show kept me sane during the winter of 2002-3, during the drum-up to the Iraq War, which I spent in the US, and it seemed like the entire nation had lost its mind, except for The Daily Show.

Also, the 2nd ever episode I ever saw I saw live, which I can thank MeFite The Queen of Spreadable Fats for dragging me to back in January of 2002, when Jon Stewart's fame didn't extend beyond the shores of America.
posted by Kattullus at 4:26 AM on December 28, 2009 [1 favorite]


Not working in the UK. An alternative link would leave me grateful.
posted by Hickeystudio at 4:29 AM on December 28, 2009


It's available in Poland. Maybe the censors filtered out the comedy, however. All I see is Jon Stewart barking out straight headlines without the usual humorous stuff that makes you watch him.
posted by pracowity at 4:30 AM on December 28, 2009


Yeah, interesting as a real time capsule, and also to see how much Jon Stewart has aged in the past decade. But no real laughs.
posted by zardoz at 4:35 AM on December 28, 2009


Other than the evolution of Jon's hair, there wasn't much interesting here. All we get is the headlines, none of the jokes.

And really, the sooner we forget about the aughts, the better. What a shitty decade.
posted by octothorpe at 4:37 AM on December 28, 2009


Yeah, but what I want to know is, who has the nation's largest fastest 3G network?

I get the feeling like I should know this one, like it was told to me repeatedly during video ads every three minutes along with a banner at the top of the page and the bottom of the videos, or something.
posted by JHarris at 4:59 AM on December 28, 2009 [3 favorites]


Can't. Won't. Too depressing.
posted by fleetmouse at 5:08 AM on December 28, 2009


In hindsight, the "aughts"/"noughts"/whatnots were pretty awful on a geopolitical, humanitarian and scientific (ban on stem cells, etc) level.

Here's to a more harmonious decade.
posted by flippant at 5:34 AM on December 28, 2009 [2 favorites]


watched in Australia no problems... I remembered myself watching some of those clips on CD my buddies with broadband had downloaded and burnt for me. No big laughs but he is still as gorgeous and silly now as he was 10 years ago.
posted by evil_esto at 5:45 AM on December 28, 2009


Thanks, JS, for keeping me sane during those early Bush years as well. Now I kind of want to pull out all of those old CD's I have of TDS episodes from 2000-2002 when Colbert and Carell were teamed up.
posted by jeanmari at 6:01 AM on December 28, 2009 [1 favorite]


I'm seeing a video here in Rhode Island, but I don't think it's working. It's not funny. It's making me want to cry. Oh, 2010, you don't have to do much to be better than this.
posted by grapefruitmoon at 6:35 AM on December 28, 2009 [1 favorite]


(I will say that I do enjoy this from a "Jon Stewart's hair in review" perspective.)
posted by grapefruitmoon at 6:39 AM on December 28, 2009 [8 favorites]


Metafilter: you could spend this half hour of your life doing something more rewarding...
posted by hippybear at 6:58 AM on December 28, 2009 [2 favorites]


It plays fine in Germany.
Iceland checking in, working just fine.


Spielt góður.
posted by hypersloth at 7:13 AM on December 28, 2009


If you made it to 2001 here's the 9/20 episode.
posted by Skorgu at 7:22 AM on December 28, 2009 [3 favorites]


The intro on Skorgu's 9/20 episode link is touching.
posted by localhuman at 8:27 AM on December 28, 2009


the pre 9/11 world. so innocent. so hopeful. i want to go back to before all this war/plutocracy/financial meltdown/religion bs turned us into the alternate, scary, Back to the Future 2 future.
posted by camdan at 8:53 AM on December 28, 2009


Canada.
posted by You Should See the Other Guy at 8:57 AM on December 28, 2009


And really, the sooner we forget about the aughts, the better. What a shitty decade.

Most of America agrees with you. They do think the internet and cell phones were pretty neat, however.
posted by DiscourseMarker at 9:32 AM on December 28, 2009 [1 favorite]


I tried to watch this and couldn't. Auden's description of a "low, dishonest decade" came to mind and wouldn't leave.
posted by foxy_hedgehog at 9:43 AM on December 28, 2009 [1 favorite]


I'd forgotten how depressing the decade I "came of age" in was. It sure aged Jon Stewart!
posted by ChuraChura at 10:04 AM on December 28, 2009 [1 favorite]


And really, the sooner we forget about the aughts, the better. What a shitty decade.

I'm kind of with the Holocaust "never forget" crowd on this one. There are a lot of people out there currently screaming loudly about things, who need to be regularly and publicly reminded that they were one of the bastards responsible for some slice of that train wreck. Otherwise, they'll just come back and do it again.
posted by Kid Charlemagne at 10:27 AM on December 28, 2009 [4 favorites]


They left out a headline:

"2009: Burned-out Daily Show writers go insane with video editing software"
posted by storybored at 10:56 AM on December 28, 2009


Kid C., you're probably right that we shouldn't forget but can you blame me for not wanting to?
posted by octothorpe at 11:26 AM on December 28, 2009


Is there a reason we cut the jokes?
posted by l33tpolicywonk at 11:42 AM on December 28, 2009


This is pretty great. The jokes are cut, yes, and it doesn't really scan as a piece with the primary intention of being funny; it really is a Yearly Review of the major stories and players in the media.

I watched it from start to finish, and it really served to remind me of how short my memory can be sometimes. I mean, I'm as addicted to TPM and TDS / TCR as much as any fanboi, but the way in which we are presented with information on politics and current events in the U.S. really lends itself to novelty more than complex, change-over-time gradual observation. I had quite a few "Oh yeah! I forgot about that douchebag!" moments.

Also, using a majority of audio clips that were essentially Jon Stewart reading a headline made it easy to follow, and served to remind me that he really is my most-trusted news anchor and I am grateful for his work.
posted by lazaruslong at 2:42 PM on December 28, 2009 [2 favorites]


Because this decade was 90% dreadful (I didn't start feeling better until 11/08), I would be a screaming lunatic by now if not for the Jon Stewart show. May he and his awesome writers live on forever.
posted by bearwife at 3:25 PM on December 28, 2009


Man, that could have been way better. Are any of the videos anything but long, jarringly-edited montages of Stewart reading the headlines? Are there any, like, jokes?
posted by DecemberBoy at 11:24 PM on December 28, 2009


Oh, enough whining about there not being any jokes. They are 3 minute videos, each devoted to 52 weeks' worth of news. They aren't called "The Daily Show's Jokes In Review"....

Jokes require setup and payoff. They require more than the 180 seconds allotted to each year. You'd get either 3-5 jokes per video in that time, or you'll get what you have, which is a pretty decent chronological overview of each years' events. I was shocked at how many things I'd forgotten and were instantly brought to mind. I loved how each video sort of unfolded some of the longer-term events like a blossoming bud, with apparent care taken to actually provide the bare bones of the flow of events.

Besides, have you ever gone back and watched Daily Show episodes from even a year or so ago? Sure, the correspondent segments retain some of their amusement value... But most of the humor on that show is highly contextual, especially during the headline roundup segment. And it doesn't age well. They are temporally-bound location jokes, where the "there" in "you had to be there" is bound into a moment of current events and historical flow which is simply irreproducible at a later date.

He'll be back on Jan 4 if you really have to have him make jokes for you. I promise.
posted by hippybear at 11:45 PM on December 28, 2009


hippybear: He'll be back on Jan 4 if you really have to have him make jokes for you. I promise.

I'm not asking for new content. I just think, instead of a bunch of clips of Jon Stewart saying the names of things that were in the news, it would be a lot better use of bandwidth to uphold some of the classic Daily Show bits from the last decade: Pride of America, old Even Stephvens, Samantha Bee running around the 00 Democratic Convention asking every Hassidic Jew if he is Joe Lieberman, the midterm elections song, etc.
posted by l33tpolicywonk at 10:09 PM on December 29, 2009


Dear America, how's that "Hope" and "Change" workin' out for ya?
posted by blue_beetle at 10:48 AM on December 30, 2009


« Older The complete archive of International Times, which...  |  The New York Times examines se... Newer »


This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments