whois microsoft.com?
October 22, 2000 7:34 PM   Subscribe

whois microsoft.com? You might be surprised. or maybe not.
posted by quonsar (4 comments total)
This will be fixed soon, I'm sure. In the interests of spreading the humour:

To single out one record, look it up with "xxx", where xxx is one of the
of the records displayed above. If the records are the same, look them up
with "=xxx" to receive a full display for each record.

>>> Last update of whois database: Sun, 22 Oct 2000 10:04:50 EDT <<<
posted by cCranium at 5:55 AM on October 23, 2000

And, even more interesting, the whois info for MICROSOFT.COM.IS.SECRETLY.RUN.BY.ILLUMINATI.TERRORISTS.NET:

IP Address:
Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com
Referral URL: www.networksolutions.com

>>> Last update of whois database: Sun, 22 Oct 2000 10:04:50 EDT <<<
(emphasis mine)

posted by cCranium at 6:01 AM on October 23, 2000

Oh yeah. Duh. Sorry, precaffeine posts, wasn't putting "registrar" in the proper context.

I was thinking "The entity who registered" not "the entity that handled the registration"

My bad.

(at least I got a chuckle out of it though.)
posted by cCranium at 9:41 AM on October 23, 2000

It's a host record for the domain terrorists.net. They also had an editorial comment on Apple done in the same fashion; apparently, they approve of the fruity company.
posted by kindall at 3:36 PM on October 23, 2000

« Older I just got polled for the presidential election   |   "I wasn't doing anything wrong..." Newer »

This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments