Wil Wheaton reviews old episodes of Star Trek: The Next Generation
March 26, 2007 9:43 AM   Subscribe

Wil Wheaton reviews old episodes of Star Trek: The Next Generation "I didn't know at the time that there was a deep and burning hatred for my character developing in fandom (I hadn't been to any conventions, yet, and didn't know what Usenet was) so I didn't think twice about being stabbed on the planetoid; actually, I thought it was kind of cool. However, that image was endlessly reprinted over the next year or so, and more than one Trekkie presented it to me at a con for an autograph, incorrectly thinking the joke was on me. It ultimately ended up as a card called "Wesley gets the point" in the Star Trek CCG."
posted by feelinglistless (20 comments total)

This post was deleted for the following reason: Wil Wheaton repeatin' -- cortex



 
I think this is maybe a double kinda sorta totally.
posted by Lentrohamsanin at 9:48 AM on March 26, 2007


Anyone know a good Klingon swear word?

I knew this was too good not to have appeared before...
posted by feelinglistless at 9:49 AM on March 26, 2007


They call me an old fart because I'm silent but deadly.
posted by Afroblanco at 9:53 AM on March 26, 2007


feelinglistless - Perhaps this was a double, but you DID remind me that I hadn't checked for updates lately. So, thank you!
posted by EatTheWeak at 9:54 AM on March 26, 2007


This isn't a double: it's an evil twin.
posted by It's Raining Florence Henderson at 9:59 AM on March 26, 2007 [2 favorites]


Tasha freaks out, Q says "Bitch be cool!" and whisks her off to a penalty box until someone gives him back his wallet, which says "Bad Motherfucker" on it.

Heh.
posted by WolfDaddy at 10:03 AM on March 26, 2007


[this is awesome]
posted by DU at 10:18 AM on March 26, 2007


I'm just blown away that the TNG episode he's reviewing is 20 years old.
posted by dr_dank at 10:38 AM on March 26, 2007


I can't wait for Nicki Clyne's reviews of Battlestar Galactica 20 years from now.....

Great post. Thanks.
posted by googly at 10:51 AM on March 26, 2007


Man, I had such a crush on Wesley when I was 12. Wait, who am I kidding? I still do....
posted by Green Eyed Monster at 10:58 AM on March 26, 2007


The original post on this topic was quite memorable:
One of Geordi's first stops is to visit his good pal Wesley Crusher, who shows off one of his science projects (a mini tractor beam,) and one of his toys, a device that lets Wesley recreate speech from anyone on the ship. Any doubt that Wesley is a complete weenie is removed when we learn that he uses this device to have Captain Picard say things like, "Welcome to the bridge, Wesley," instead of having Counselor Troi say things like, "Smack my ass, Wesley, I'm a naughty, naughty bitch."

Wil Wheaton recaps Star Trek: The Next Generation.
posted by EarBucket (53 comments total) [add to favorites]
[!] 26 users marked this as a favorite
posted by caddis at 11:10 AM on March 26, 2007


I think it's great that Wil Wheaton has developed some healthy ironic distance between himself and his former meal ticket. I sorta don't understand the Wil Wheaton personality cult that's lived on the web these last 10 or so years, but he seems like a pretty funny guy.
posted by psmealey at 11:30 AM on March 26, 2007


I'm just blown away that the TNG episode he's reviewing is 20 years old.

Thanks for the realization, asshole.
posted by Alex404 at 11:33 AM on March 26, 2007


fame is so wonderful, please don't take it from me

I want to keep it close to me forever
posted by four panels at 11:46 AM on March 26, 2007


I sorta don't understand the Wil Wheaton personality cult that's lived on the web these last 10 or so years

I suspect it is because he is us and we are him. All trapped in dr. dentons humping tribbles while waiting for our invitations to tryout for starfleet academy on Wheel of Jeopardy Millionaire Deal so we can go on to be bus drivers but in space with engineering degrees. He lived the illusion of the dream that we all don't quite actually have.
posted by srboisvert at 12:12 PM on March 26, 2007


Some of his reviews seem pretty heavy on the mockery. Methinks he's still trying a little too hard to distance himself from the show.

I don't get the WW cult either. His writing is utterly boring... just a rehash of familiar geek humor and cliches.
posted by Artifice_Eternity at 12:12 PM on March 26, 2007


Still trying to figure out the difference between "trekkies" and "trekkers".
posted by wfc123 at 12:18 PM on March 26, 2007


Heh, I dated a couple of different girls back in the dark ages (prior to ST:TNG, I must've been 14 or 15) who'd both attended school (Montessori?) with Wil Wheaton. I remember chatting with him on the phone once or twice and being struck by what a snarky dick he was.

He's since redeemed himself in my eyes, with his good-natured acceptance of his ST:TNG geek martyrdom.
posted by retronic at 12:19 PM on March 26, 2007


Still trying to figure out the difference between "trekkies" and "trekkers".

"Trekkers" are what rabid Trek fans want to be called, "Trekkies" are what they actually are called. I think.
posted by MikeMc at 12:22 PM on March 26, 2007


Still trying to figure out the difference between "trekkies" and "trekkers".

When you pronounced it "Trekker" with the hard "R", it's a derogatory slur. The similar "Trekkaz" is a term of endearment, but only between Star Trek fans.
posted by Uther Bentrazor at 12:46 PM on March 26, 2007 [3 favorites]


« Older The Demon of Screamin' turns 59   |   The History of K-Tel Newer »


This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments