Skip

Kiddie Music Reviews
November 13, 2003 3:11 PM   Subscribe

"Right away you can tell: it's white people." Music reviews by 5th graders and kindergartners. via Slatch.
posted by btwillig (22 comments total)

 
Too cute.

Music is about what you think, what's in your heart.

I don't think anyone could put it better in fewer words.
posted by orange swan at 3:16 PM on November 13, 2003


that really is good...thanks!
posted by amberglow at 3:18 PM on November 13, 2003


It hurts my head like a hundred dogs.
posted by monju_bosatsu at 3:22 PM on November 13, 2003


OK, now I sort of remember why I like MetaFilter. Great link!
Alvin's comments ("white people" etc) are spot-on as far as Galaxie 500/ indie music in general go. It does look like an upside down Duplex Planet, but overall there are much more witty remarks than you'll ever find in Pitchfork or I Love Music.
posted by 111 at 3:24 PM on November 13, 2003


*all names have been changed

Never would have guessed...
posted by Galvatron at 3:25 PM on November 13, 2003


White people are always saying, "ooooh, I love you so much, are we going to a movie?"

Wow. Busted. Must stop doing this!
posted by onlyconnect at 3:31 PM on November 13, 2003


oh god - almost snorted my remaining brain outta my head...

the kindergartners were the best... (looks forward to going home and hearing the latest "stream of consciousness" from my daughter - trying hard not to imagine having a class of them, each of them in their own little world babbling away merrily - hmmm, its' almost like a group of politicians...)
posted by jkaczor at 3:32 PM on November 13, 2003


MetaFilter: right away you can tell: it's white people.

;-)
posted by lord_wolf at 3:55 PM on November 13, 2003


Wonderful link -- thank you. I loved this little exchange:
«Miss Allen: Do you like the song?
Juan: It's ok.
Dalia: I like it.
Lisette: No, it reminds me how I always have to go to church.»
:)
posted by anjarchista at 3:57 PM on November 13, 2003


not as good as I thought it would be.... :/

I enjoyed the video game and radiohead kid things more.
These kids are obnoxious and dumb.
posted by Espoo2 at 4:04 PM on November 13, 2003


MA: What makes you happy?

Alejandro: Ummm, food. And crackers.


mmmmmmm..... crackers...
posted by jazon at 4:11 PM on November 13, 2003


"someday i'm going to do that thing where you swim with a dolphin."

Swimming with a dolphin, maybe? Carlos I don't like.

"i feel like i might say "hey hey" and i was thinking about a robot."

William, however, I do.
posted by nthdegx at 5:29 PM on November 13, 2003


this music is making me die (flops to floor in exagerated death fall and sticks tongue out).
posted by Guy Smiley at 5:34 PM on November 13, 2003


anjarchista beat me to it, I swear I was just about to post that, it cracked me up completely.
posted by dabitch at 5:36 PM on November 13, 2003


White people are always saying, "ooooh, I love you so much, are we going to a movie?"

I wonder what non-white people are always saying?
posted by Witty at 6:00 PM on November 13, 2003


It hurts my head like a hundred dogs.

If I were in The Strokes, that would be the name of my next album.
posted by Jairus at 8:01 PM on November 13, 2003


Might be funnier if it reviewed music that I'd have actually heard of... (Strokes excluded, of course)
posted by Down10 at 8:06 PM on November 13, 2003


Wheeee! The Lucksmiths! I love T-Shirt Weather. (The song.) (And the weather.)
posted by wilberforce at 9:11 PM on November 13, 2003


Jonathan Richman? Not even the Modern Lovers -- Jonathan Richman? My God, woman. My God.
posted by Ptrin at 9:38 PM on November 13, 2003


Espoo2: There are other pages with kindergarteners and 3rd graders where the kids have not yet learned to be obnoxious and dumb. Find the links at the top-left of the page.

For me it was interesting to see the differences between the reactions of the different age-groups and sexes.

Kindergarteners could have been either sex based on their responses, which were quite unique in their take on the song (or their utter obliviousness to the fact that there was any music going on at all)

Third graders still had a lot of that but you could start to see that girls were beginning to speak at greater length, using more complex constructions than boys.

And the fifth graders... well, we all read the same thing. ;)

My favorite exchange:
Arda: If I have a husband, when I get older, I'm making him pay for all the movies we go to.

Sayed: No one is going to marry you girls anyway. You're too short and you talk too much.
posted by rocketpup at 1:29 AM on November 14, 2003


Sadly, when talking to my friends about current music, we sound remarkably like these kids.

But we mention poo more often then they do.
posted by Dagobert at 2:10 AM on November 14, 2003


this music is making me die (flops to floor in exagerated death fall and sticks tongue out).

I know the guys in this band (they're blogmates) this review refers to, and passed the link along ... no word yet on whether they'll answer their critic.
posted by pfafflin at 7:11 AM on November 14, 2003


« Older How to live longer   |   Scream of the Shalka Newer »


This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments



Post