Goo Review
May 30, 2019 4:13 PM   Subscribe

How best to thoroughly and methodically review Gamer Goo, the antiperspirant and grip enhancing lotion marketed to the DualShock-handling cohort? I Covered My Entire Body in Gamer Goo
posted by figurant (18 comments total) 4 users marked this as a favorite
 
The hard hitting journalism we need
posted by vibratory manner of working at 4:20 PM on May 30, 2019 [4 favorites]


Is this peak stunt?
posted by BrotherCaine at 4:21 PM on May 30, 2019


this was a ruse to show off the writer's tattoos, wasn't it.
posted by prize bull octorok at 4:25 PM on May 30, 2019 [7 favorites]


One of those items where you don't need to change the title for the porn parody.
posted by lumpenprole at 4:30 PM on May 30, 2019 [10 favorites]


BrotherCaine: "Is this peak stunt?"

Peak stunt was the Stinky Feet project back in 2001, in which the author developed and cultivated a bad case of athlete's foot. Unfortunately, the Internet Archive Wayback Machine has only archived the title page and none of the actual stunt.
posted by Bugbread at 4:31 PM on May 30, 2019 [12 favorites]


Oh god Merrit I’m already so in crush mode over you and then had to go invent a kink I didn’t know I needed and now I am DEAD.
posted by nikaspark at 5:03 PM on May 30, 2019 [5 favorites]


thespark.com in general was peak stunt, and I miss it dearly
posted by DoctorFedora at 6:27 PM on May 30, 2019 [4 favorites]


@Bugbread Oh MY god. I had forgotten about that until just now.

The internet, nay the WORLD, was a different place back then.
posted by Imperfect at 6:28 PM on May 30, 2019 [2 favorites]


So follow me, it's good for you
That good old fashioned medicated goo
Ooo, ain't it good for you?
My own homegrown recipe'll see you through
posted by jenkinsEar at 6:47 PM on May 30, 2019 [1 favorite]


Reminds me of Fresh Balls
posted by fluttering hellfire at 7:16 PM on May 30, 2019


I love that there's a market out there for gamer-branded anti-lube. The unfunny jokes write themselves!
posted by tobascodagama at 8:03 PM on May 30, 2019 [18 favorites]


Clicked through wondering who would do this like there was an iota of a chance it wasn't Merrit
posted by ominous_paws at 10:35 PM on May 30, 2019 [3 favorites]


this was a ruse to show off the writer's tattoos, wasn't it.

I think they're one of those slippery characters for whom it would be more difficult to take a photo that didn't show a tattoo.
posted by sebastienbailard at 11:33 PM on May 30, 2019 [1 favorite]


I Covered My Entire Body in Gamer Goo

Are we not doing 'phrasing' any more?
posted by Mr. Bad Example at 2:36 AM on May 31, 2019 [3 favorites]


Gamer Goo’s site strongly suggests (in all caps) that you apply a pea-sized amount, but an amount closer to the size of several chickpeas shlorped out into my palm when I squeezed the tube. I began rubbing my hands together, but they remained stubbornly wet and sticky as my cameraman/roommate looked on in horror.

Shaye? Are you still doing that hand thing?
posted by chrominance at 4:53 AM on May 31, 2019 [2 favorites]


MetaFilter: The unfunny jokes write themselves!
posted by Fizz at 5:06 AM on May 31, 2019 [3 favorites]


Gaming jumped the shark as soon as it became a subculture.
posted by escape from the potato planet at 8:48 AM on May 31, 2019


Is it necessary for playing Call of Duty? Well, maybe not. But ask yourself this: is it necessary to play Call of Duty at all?

I knew a veteran who was using Call of Duty as a way to process his PTSD, which is the absolute best thing I have ever heard about Call of Duty, no question. He'd play for a while and then go process his feelings, and it was really helping him. So: there is a real purpose for Call of Duty, but it may not be what the designers had intended.

As far as the review goes, I was hoping for more discussion of what it was like trying to do ordinary things while covered in gamer goo, and whether getting it off his skin was a problem. Did paper stick to him? Was it weird showering? Come on, if you're going to do stunt journalism then do it like you mean it, give us weird detail, and show off your ink a little more.
posted by bile and syntax at 9:24 AM on May 31, 2019 [2 favorites]


« Older At the Awful Intersection of the Surveillance...   |   Chart Party, Democratic Socialist Style Newer »


This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments