A review site for various freeware apps and games
July 2, 2009 10:36 AM   Subscribe

Freeware Genius is a large review site for various freeware apps, from desktop organizing tools to philosophical flash games . There are literally hundreds of applications reviewed, as well as a few compilations to get you started.

Sick of iTunes? Check out these free options. Got a video on youtube that you think will be taken down? Copy it with this app! Really, there's tons of interesting stuff here, so check it out.
posted by scrutiny (11 comments total) 42 users marked this as a favorite
 
Something on that site came up as a threat in my Trend Micro - unauthorized URL for www6.cbox.ws - just FYI.

Not sure it's a real threat or not, I was told by my software to talk to the IT department about why it's unauthorized. Since I'm the IT administrator, I talked to myself for a minute and was unable to come up with a reason.

So there you have it.
posted by disclaimer at 10:54 AM on July 2, 2009 [2 favorites]


I get a blank page.
posted by Dark Messiah at 11:09 AM on July 2, 2009


Here's another one.
posted by odinsdream at 11:52 AM on July 2, 2009


Coral Cache seems to work.
posted by Pronoiac at 12:19 PM on July 2, 2009


Seems to be all windows, but not explicitly so. Also, not well organized. Also also, not very comprehensive at this point in time.

Heart in the right place, but not really FPP-worth yet. Would have been better off aging for a bit to thicken the back catalog. (what did I just say?)
posted by lodurr at 1:19 PM on July 2, 2009


huh, sorry if people are getting weird things out of the site. I'd been going to it a few years now and never had any problems.

And yes, most of the things there are for PC. It's just one little way of trying to become more mac-like in the user interface...
posted by scrutiny at 2:20 PM on July 2, 2009


Mostly Windows.
posted by Blazecock Pileon at 2:27 PM on July 2, 2009


Anybody else have concerns with "virus-like" activity from the site. I haven't gone there yet, just want some assurance that I won't get tons of spam and/or virus activity if I do.
posted by unclemike at 8:30 PM on July 2, 2009


A bunch of free Mac software is here.
posted by neuron at 9:35 PM on July 2, 2009 [3 favorites]


blank
posted by jfrancis at 10:21 PM on July 3, 2009


Who cares about free windows software? A useful list might be : Interesting young but good open source projects that man & windows users might be missing out on.
posted by jeffburdges at 4:39 AM on July 4, 2009


« Older If you think the game looks crappy, you should try...   |   Sptnk : The Study of Contemporary Culture Newer »


This thread has been archived and is closed to new comments